1. Sports
Send to a Friend via Email
You can opt-out at any time. Please refer to our privacy policy for contact information.

Men's Olympic Giant Slalom Medal Winners


Men's Olympic Giant Slalom Medal Winners

Carlo Janka, Switzerland, winner of the Gold Medal in the Giant Slalom at the Vancouver 2010 Winter Olympics.

Image Copyright Getty Images
The following is a list of the men's giant slalom Olympic medal winners.

Men's Olympic Giant Slalom Medal Winners

1952 Oslo

  • Gold: Stein Eriksen (Norway)
  • Silver: Christian Pravda (Austria)
  • Bronze: Toni Spiess (Austria)

1956 Cortina d'Ampezzo

  • Gold: Toni Sailer (Austria)
  • Silver: Anderl Molterer (Austria)
  • Bronze: Walter Schuster (Austria)

1960 Squaw Valley

  • Gold: Roger Staub (Switzerland)
  • Silver: Josef Stiegler (Austria)
  • Bronze: Ernst Hinterseer (Austria)

1964 Innsbruck

  • Gold: Francois Bonlieu (France)
  • Silver: Karl Schranz (Austria)
  • Bronze: Josef Stiegler (Austria)

1968 Grenoble

  • Gold: Jean-Claude Killy (France)
  • Silver: Willy Favre (Switzerland)
  • Bronze: Heini Messner (Austria)
1972 Sapporo
  • Gold: Gustav Thoni (Italy)
  • Silver: Edmund Bruggmann (Switzerland)
  • Bronze: Werner Mattle (Switzerland)

1976 Innsbruck

  • Gold: Heini Hemmi (Switzerland)
  • Silver: Ernst Good (Switzerland)
  • Bronze: Ingemar Stenmark (Sweden)

1980 Lake Placid

  • Gold: Ingemar Stenmark (Sweden)
  • Silver: Andreas Wenzel (Liechtenstein)
  • Bronze: Hans Enn (Austria)

1984 Sarajevo

  • Gold: Max Julen (Switzerland)
  • Silver: Jure Franko (Yugoslavia)
  • Bronze: Andreas Wenzel (Liechtenstein)

1988 Calgary

  • Gold: Alberto Tomba (Italy)
  • Silver: Hubert Strolz (Austria)
  • Bronze: Pirmin Zurbriggen (Switzerland)

1992 Albertville

  • Gold: Alberto Tomba (Italy)
  • Silver: Marc Girardelli (Luxembourg)
  • Bronze: Kjetil Andre Aamodt (Norway)

1994 Lillehammer

  • Gold: Markus Wasmeier (Germany)
  • Silver: Urs Kalin (Switzerland)
  • Bronze: Christian Mayer (Austria)

1998 Nagano

  • Gold: Hermann Maier (Austria)
  • Silver: Stephan Eberharter (Austria)
  • Bronze: Michael von Grungigen (Switzerland)

2002 Salt Lake City

  • Gold: Stephan Eberharter (Austria)
  • Silver: Bode Miller (USA)
  • Bronze: Lasse Kjus (Norway)

2006 Turin

  • Gold: Benjamin Raich (Austria)
  • Silver: Joel Chenal (France)
  • Bronze: Hermann Maier (Austria)

2010 Vancouver

  • Gold: Carlo Janka (Switzerland)
  • Silver: Kjetil Jansrud (Norway)
  • Bronze: Aksel Lund Svindal (Norway)

Read More: Winter Olympic Skiing | History of Olympic Skiing | Skiing Olympic Medals

©2014 About.com. All rights reserved.