1. Sports
Send to a Friend via Email

Your suggestion is on its way!

An email with a link to:


was emailed to:

Thanks for sharing About.com with others!

Men's Downhill Olympic Skiing Medal Winners


Men's Downhill Olympic Skiing Medal Winners

Didier Defago, Switzerland, winner of the Olympic Gold Medal in the 2010 Men's Downhill.

Image Copyright Getty Images
The following is a list of the men's downhill Olympic medal winners.

Men's Downhill Olympic Skiing Medal Winners 1948 - 2010

1948 St. Moritz

  • Gold: Henri Oreiller (France)
  • Silver: Franz Gabi (Austria)
  • Bronze: Karl Molitor (Switzerland)
1952 Oslo
  • Gold: Zeno Colo (Italy)
  • Silver: Othmar Schneider (Austria)
  • Bronze: Christian Pravda (Austria)
1956 Cortina d'Ampezzo
  • Gold: Toni Sailer (Austria)
  • Silver: Raymond Fellay (Switzerland)
  • Bronze: Anderl Molterer (Austria)
1960 Squaw Valley
  • Gold: Jean Vuarnet (France)
  • Silver: Hans-Peter Lanig (Germany)
  • Bronze: Guy Perillat (France)
1964 Innsbruck
  • Gold: Egon Zimmermann (Austria)
  • Silver: Leo Lacroix (France)
  • Bronze: Wolfgang Bartels (Germany)
1968 Grenoble
  • Gold: Jean-Claude Killy (France)
  • Silver: Guy Perillat (France)
  • Bronze: Jean-Daniel Datwyler (Switzerland)
1972 Sapporo
  • Gold: Bernhard Russi (Switzerland)
  • Silver:Roland Collombin (Switzerland)
  • Bronze: Heinric Messner (Austria)
1976 Innsbruck
  • Gold: Franz Klammer (Austria)
  • Silver: Bernhard Russi (Switzerland)
  • Bronze: Herbert Plank (Italy)
1980 Lake Placid
  • Gold: Leonhard Stock (Austria)
  • Silver: Peter Wirnsberger (Austria)
  • Bronze: Steve Podborski (Canada)
1984 Sarajevo
  • Gold: Bill Johnson (USA)
  • Silver: Peter Muller (Switzerland)
  • Bronze: Anton Steiner (Austria)
1988 Calgary
  • Gold: Pirmin Zurbriggen (Switzerland)
  • Silver: Peter Muller (Switzerland)
  • Bronze: Franck Piccard (France)
1992 Albertville
  • Gold: Patrick Ortlieb (Austria)
  • Silver: Franck Piccard (France)
  • Bronze: Gunther Mader (Austria)
1994 Lillehammer
  • Gold: Tommy Moe (USA)
  • Silver: Kjetil Andre Aamodt (Norway)
  • Bronze: Ed Podivinsky (Canada)
1998 Nagano
  • Gold: Jean-Luc Cretier (France)
  • Silver: Lasse Kjus (Norway)
  • Bronze: Hannes Trinkl (Austria)
2002 Salt Lake City
  • Gold: Fritz Strobl (Austria)
  • Silver: Lasse Kjus (Norway)
  • Bronze: Stephan Eberharter (Austria)
2006 Turin
  • Gold: Antoine Deneriaz (France)
  • Silver: Michael Walchhofer (Austria)
  • Bronze: Bruno Kernen (Switzerland)
2010 Vancouver
  • Gold: Didier Defago (Switzerland)
  • Silver: Aksel Lund Svindal (Norway)
  • Bronze: Bode Miller (USA)

Read More: Winter Olympic Skiing | History of Olympic Skiing | Skiing Olympic Medals

©2014 About.com. All rights reserved.